May 22, 2024  
Reynolds Community College Catalog 2023-2024 
Reynolds Community College Catalog 2023-2024 [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Uniform Certificate of General Studies C (Transfer) (695)

PURPOSE: The Uniform Certificate of General Studies (UCGS) is a one-year college program in which all courses are transferable and satisfy lower-division general education requirements at any Virginia public institution of higher education.  The Passport is a component of the UCGS and is therefore a subset of courses in the UCGS.  The UCGS consists of seven course blocks. To satisfy the UCGS students are required to complete the appropriate number of courses in each block as described below.  Student course selection should be carefully considered since the UCGS program is not designed to capture the complexities of individual programs of study at the four-year institutions.  Students should be advised to take the UCGS course that best suits their intended program of study at the four-year institution.   

ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS: General college curricular admission


Courses should be taken in the order listed.

Block I (Written Communication)

Select ENG 111 plus one other course.

Block II (Humanities/Fine Arts/Literature)

Select two courses chosen from different categories (please note that the two courses cannot be from the same category).

Block IV (Natural Sciences)

Select one course.

Block V (Mathematics)

Select one course.

Block VII (Specialized General Education Requirements)

Select two courses.

NOTE: For Block VII, student may complete courses from Blocks I - VI above or any additional course below.  Students should align their Block VII course selection with their intended transfer destination’s specific general education or programmatic requirements.